Arkansas Professional Photographers Association

CAPTURE 2017 Image Awards

The talent of APPA was well represented this year at our annual Image Competition.  Images that make you feel emotion, that move you to another place and time, and that make you want to keep looking at them were in abundance this year.  Here are the images that won awards at this years competition.

Our Jury Panel this year consisted of:

James Byron, Louisianna

Chris Duncan, Texas

Dwayne Lee, Texas

Pete Rezac, Nevada

Inna Sumra, North Dakota

Randy Taylor, Oklahoma

Photographer of the Year   2017
Print Case Score of 524 
   Deborah Billingsley

"Remembering Mom"

Illustrative Salon Division "Distinguished Print"

"The Hands of Time"

"Modern Day Sherlock"

First Place Portrait, Salon Divsion
Best Photograph of a High School Senior
Pete Major Award (Best of Show as selected by the Judges)

"Ready for duck season"

Portrait Salon Division "Distinguished Print"
Best Photograph of an animal
Judges ribbon - James Byron

"Psychedelic Man"

First Place Salon Division, Illustrative
Ben Red Award (Best photo decor)
Judges ribbon - Inna Surma

"Mr And Mrs"

Portrait Salon Division "Distinguished Print"
Best Photograph of a group
Certified Professional Photographer Award
ASP state elite award

High School Senior Photographer of the Year 2017

  Chris Thomas

"Night Rider"

"Friday Night Lights"

"Diamond Diva"

Wedding Photographer of the Year 2017

  Greg Owens

"Of Pillars and Arches"
First Place Wedding General Divsion

"Calm in the Storm"
Wedding General Division "Distinguished Print"

"Thoughts of Forever"

Childrens Photographer of the Year 2017

  Jason Lloyd

"Dog Days"
First Place Electronic Imaging General Division

"Flower Girl"
First Place Illustrative General Division
Best Photograph of a Child
Judges Ribbon - Randy Taylor

"Bear Essentials"
Illustrative General Division "Distinguished Print"

Portrait General Division

First Place...Abby Malone

"Faithfully Waiting"

First Place Portrait General Division

Judges ribbon - Chris Duncan

Distinguished Prints Portrait General Divsion:

Tara Dickson  "Curious Colt"

Amy Jones  "Burn"

Portrait Salon Division

First Place....Deborah Billingsley  "Modern Day Sherlock"

Distinguished prints Portrait Salon Division

Deborah Billingsley  "Mr and Mrs"

Deborah Billingsley  "Ready for Duck Season"

Ed Cooley  "Fisherman and Friend"

Best Photograph of a Man

Portrait Salon Division "Distinguished Print"

Illustrative General Division

First Place....Jason Lloyd  "Flower Girl"

Distinguished prints Illustrative General Division

Jason Lloyd  "Bear Essentials"

Abby Malone  "Ouroboros"

Illustrative Salon Division

First Place....Deborah Billingsley  "Psychedelic Man"

Distinguished prints Illustrative Salon Division

Deborah Billingsley  "Remembering Mom"

Gary Meek  "Stairway to Heaven"

Past Presidents Award (Best of show as selected by the past APPA presidents)

Illustrative Salon Division "Distinguished Print"

Electronic Imaging 

General Division

First Place....Jason Lloyd  "Dog Days"

Wedding General Division

First Place....Greg Owens  "Of Pillars and Arches"

Distinguished prints Wedding General Division

Greg Owens  "Calm in the Storm"

Wedding Salon Division

Gary Meek  "Ancient Bridal Tradition"

First Place Wedding Salon Division

Best Photograph of a Bride

Sunset Award by Lexjet

Commercial General Division

First Place....Greg Owens  "Corporate Nights"

Best Photograph of a Man...Ed Cooley "Fisherman and Friend"

Best Photograph of a Woman

Amy Jones  "Interruption"

Best Photograph of a Child...Jason Lloyd  "Flower Girl"

Best Photograph of an Animal...

Deborah Billingsley "Ready for Duck Season"

Best Photograph of a Group...Deborah Billingsley "Mr and Mrs"

Best Photograph of a High School Senior...

Deborah Billingsley "Modern Day Sherlock"

Best Photograph of a Bride...Gary Meek "Ancient Bridal Tradition"

Best Photograph by a First Time Entrant...

Melanie Myhre  "Silver Screen Beginnings"

Best Photograph by an Out of State Entrant...

Jen Hargrove  "Pedigreed"

Best Photograph by an Out of State Entrant

Judges ribbon - Pete Rezac

CPP Award...Deborah Billingsley "Mr and Mrs"

ASP State Elite Award...Deborah Billingsley "Mr and Mrs"

Sunset Award by Lexjet...Gary Meek "Ancient Bridal Tradition"

Ben Red Award (Best Photo Decor)...

Deborah Billingsley "Psychedelic Man"

Delores Shrader Award (Best Black and White)...

Kathy Meek "On the Yangtze"

William  Hughes Award

Delores Shrader Award

Judges ribbon - Dwayne Lee

Pete Major Award (Best of Show as selected by the Judges)...

Deborah Billingsley "Modern Day Sherlock"

William Hughes Award (Best of Show as selected 

by the membership)...Kathy Meek "On the Yangtze"

Past Presidents Award (Best of Show as selected by the past presidents)...Gary Meek "Stairway to Heaven"

Judges Ribbons...

Randy Taylor...Jason Lloyd "Flower Girl"

Inna Sumra...Deborah Billingsley "Psychedelic Man"

Dwayne Lee...Kathy Meek "On the Yangtze"

Chris Duncan...Abby Malone "Faithfully Waiting"

Pete Rezac...Jen Hargrove "Pedigreed"

James Byron...Deborah Billingsley "Ready for Duck Season" 

APPA Constitution

APPA Fellowship Degree Credit Form

CAPTURE 2015 Print Competition Results

Arkansas Professional Photographers Association

P.O. Box 1134, Beebe, AR  72012;

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software