Arkansas Professional Photographers Association

CAPTURE 2021 Image Awards

This years image competition was an all digital competition hosted by the APPA.  Many members entered this year including many first time entrants.  This years competition marks the official renaming of the award for the best image by a first time entrant to "The Ron Jackson Award" in honor of Ron Jackson who passed away this past year.  Fantastic images were entered in all categories of entry.   One print even scored a perfect 100 once again!  Here are the images that won awards at this years competition.  Congratulations to all the winners!

Our Jury Panel this year consisted of:

Jury Chair: Gary Meek,  lmage Competition Chairs: Kathryn Meek / Scott Head


Brad Barton, Texas; Angela Hughes, Missouri;  Mark McCall, Texas;  Corey McDonald, Alabama; and Randy Taylor, Oklahoma







Photographer of the Year   


Print Case Score of 501 


Deborah Billingsley

"Fruit of Life"

First Place Illustrative Salon Division

Ben Red Award / Best Photo-Decor

Judges Choice Award-Randy Taylor

"May We Help You?"

First Place Commercial Salon Division


Distinguished Image Award

"Spirit Song"

"On Watch"

"Comfortable In Her Own Skin"

High School Senior

Photographer of the Year 2021


Amy Jones

"Waiting For My Fairy Godmother"

Judges Choice Award - Mark McCall

Distinguished Image Award

"My Escape"

"That's Gonna Cost Me"

Children Photographer of the Year 2021


Jason Lloyd

"There Should Have Been Two"

First Place Portrait - Salon Division

Pete Major Award - Best of Show as selected by the Judges

William Hughes Award - Best of Show as selected by the membership

Best Photograph of a Child

Judges Choice Award - Corey McDonald

"Anytime, Anywhere"

Distinguished Image Award

"My World"

Portrait General Division

First Place...Greg Owens

"El Barbudo"

Delores Schrader Award - Best Black & White 

Past Presidents Award - Best of Show as selected by the past presidents

Portrait Salon Division

First Place....Jason Lloyd 

"There Should Have Been Two"

Distinguished prints Portrait Salon Division

Gary Meek  "Ezekiel"

Best Photograph of a Man

Jason Lloyd  "Anytime, Anywhere"

Illustrative General Division

First Place....Tim Donar 

"Wheels Up!"

Distinguished prints Illustrative General Division

Tim Donar  "Just A Matter of Time"

Illustrative Salon Division

First Place....Deborah Billingsley  

"Fruit of Life"

Distinguished prints Illustrative Salon Division

Deborah Billingsley  "Illuminating"

Abby Malone  "What Becomes Us"

Wedding General Division

First Place.... Angi Gibbons

"Stairway To His Dreams"

Distinguished Images Wedding General Division

Greg Owens..."Look To The Future"

Best Photograph of a Woman

Commercial General Division

First Place....Jennifer Mullins

"I Can't Drive 55"

Distinguished Image Award Commercial General Division

Greg Owens..."The Clubhouse"

Commercial Salon Division

First Place....Deborah Billingsley

"May We Help You?

Best Photograph of an Animal...Abby Malone 

"Catnip Hallucinations"

Judges Choice Award - Brad Barton

Best Photograph of a High School Senior...Jennifer Mullins 

"Ready To Conquer The World"

The Ron Jackson Award

for Best Photograph by a First Time Entrant...Angela Pieratt

"Quinceanera Beauty"

Best Photograph by an Out of State Entrant...Terri Butler

"Safe In My Nest"

CPP Award...Jason Lloyd "There Should Have Been Two"...score 100

ASP State Elite Award...Abby Malone "What Becomes Us"...score 88

APPA Constitution

APPA Fellowship Degree Credit Form

CAPTURE 2015 Print Competition Results

Arkansas Professional Photographers Association

P.O. Box 1134, Beebe, AR  72012;

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software